The first copy of the Treaty of Waitangi/te Tiriti o Waitangi was first signed on February 6, 1840, by representatives of the British Crown and more than 40 rangatira (Māori chiefs).

After the initial signing, that copy and another eight copies, all but one written in Māori, were taken around New Zealand, mostly by ship. There were around 50 signing meetings across the country between February and September 1840, at which many other chiefs signed.

In total between 530 and 540 Māori signed a copy of the Treaty of Waitangi, but not all chiefs signed and so not all iwi were represented. Some refused, others were simply not in the mostly coastal areas where the signing meetings were held.

An animated map on the Treaty 2 U website shows the places the copies of the treaty were taken in 1840 for signing: Treaty 2 U Signing locations video

This list shows where and when each copy (or “sheet”) was signed:

The Waitangi Sheet

The Manukau-Kāwhia Sheet

The Waikato-Manukau Sheet

The Printed Sheet

The Tauranga Sheet

The Bay of Plenty (Fedarb) Sheet

The Herald (Bunbury) Sheet

The Cook Strait (Henry Williams) Sheet

The East Coast Sheet

For more information visit:

NZ History - Treaty of Waitangi

Te Ara - Treaty of Waitangi

Treaty 2 U

You may also like